Long Distance Challenge

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bob

First off, I'm new to MRC's. However, I'm eager to get real smart real fast.

Long story short, I work for the Army, and I'm trying to possibly play off Amazon's desire to delivery small packages and turn that into getting our way-forward-deployed soldiers emergency supplies.

That said, here are my questions:

-With a payload of 5 pounds, how far could an optimized MRC make it (distance) without concern for making it back home? Obviously, the assumption is GPS is available so it will fly via waypoints. Assume still day, etc.

-How far could that same MRC make it without a payload? Basically, only thinking one-way and no return, how far could a MRC with a 5 pound payload capability (but not carrying that 5 pounds) make it if it is optimized for long-distance flight? (additional batteries, etc?)

We're basically trying to figure out how far we can get with current systems. And as a basic number, think MRC under, say, $1500 bucks.

What do you think?

FerdinandK

One way 2,5kg payload, 20-25km
one way, same copter, 0 payload 40-50km

Possible config (but without foldability):

best regards
Ferdinand

Last edited by a moderator:

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
i don't think any current multi's are optimized for distance as none of them consider aerodynamics and drag at higher airspeeds.

SMP

Heres my take on that Bob. Advice is generally shared. Expertise is usually purchased. If its Bob, the Army guy thats one thing. If it's the US Army via Bob thats another entirely wouldn't you agree?

Please note, the King of Long Distance is Ferd. Maybe it's time to bring him on the payroll.

Maverick

What is available to us (commercially) generally lags the military market by at least 10 years! So, I think you're in the wrong place! You should ask your peers, what they really have available, cos we'll only find that out in at least 10 years!