What batteries to buy - Total Noob

Flydigital

I am buying a DJI 550 ARF kit and wanted to ask what batteries to get.
I have been given a Turnigy 420 charger already.
There are so many batteries available but haven't found a good guide to making the correct choice - what all numbers mean for different factors.

Budget for batteries is ideally under $70 initially.

It will eventually carry a go pro and more if it all goes to plan!
thanks for any advice.

rilot

I use Turnigy Nano-tech 5000mAh 4S batteries on my F550. They work well.

OK, so, the big number is how much charge the batteries store, measured in mAh. The bigger the number the longer it will last but also, the higher the weight.
The number with a C after is (say 35C or 50C) is how fast the battery can discharge. This is as a multiple of the capacity. So, a 1000mAh 1C battery could discharge at 1amp. A 5000mAh 50C battery can discharge at 250amps. THe higher the number the faster it can discharge but also the higher the weight. 25C is fine for an F550.
The number with an S after it is the number of cells in series and consequently the total voltage of the battery. LiPo cells are rated at 3.7V per cell (although fully charged they are 4.1V to 4.2V), so a 3S battery would be a 11.1V battery, a 4S would be 14.8V, 6S 22.2V etc etc.

So adding it all up. If you take my batteries which are 5000mAh 35C 4S packs:
5000mAh of juice in them
Can discharge at 175amps
Are rated at 14.8V

Now, when selecting batteries for an F550 it's all a matter of weight and is up for some debate. I use 4S as I wanted to lift a craft with total weight of 2.4kg but still wanted some flight performance.

Tahoe Ed

I like the NanoTechs as well. I am flying with 4S 4000. I personally think that 5000 is heavy if you are using a gimbal, H3-2D in my case with GoPro H3, an iOSD, the mini and a vTx, an immersion 5.8gHz at 600 mw.

Flydigital

Thanks for that. very helpful but also raises some more questions!....