Seeking Advice on First Quadcopter Build (for GoPro footage)

G

...guest...

Hi everyone. New to this forum and new to the quadcopter world. And frankly, I'm new to the r/c world in general lol :nevreness:

However, I am not new to GoPro videos and the reason I'm here is because I want to take my footage to the air. After much research, I've settled on a quadcopter as the ideal platform. After much more research, I've come up with the following parts list. Gross price is $252.34 from HobbyKing.

Weight & Thrust Requirement

Assuming I've done the math right and my weight estimates are close, this configuration may be overpowered and was hoping to get advice on this in particular:
  • total estimated weight including GoPro camera and case: 1,725 grams
  • thrust required: 3,450 grams
  • using 10x5 props at 1,270 grams per prop or 5,080 total; well over the 3,450 required

Frame

I've opted for the HT-450 quad frame with the Dead Cat conversion kit to accomodate the GoPro. It looks like I could fashion tall landing gears and mount on the underbelly on the HT-450 alone but decided I liked the wider front arms of the conversion kit and placement of the GoPro.

I'm hoping to use this quadcopter to take a lot of footage over open ocean (approx 50-100 yards from shore) of surfing. I had looked into the "Project X" waterproof frame but decided as a beginner, I don't quite trust myself to install compontents into such tight and confined spaces. Another reason why I opted for this frame setup.

Motor & Props

Stability and smoothness are my primary aim here so I can get optimal video footage so I was hoping to use a higher KV motor as I'd read higher KV offered slower but smoother acceleration. But the 1000KV motor I had looked at listed 9 and 8 as compatible props and these did not get me the minimum prop thrust I needed. So I've identified the following 800KV motor:

• [changed mind on the motor - please see follow up post below]