Naza V2 and Misc Flying questions

jfro

Aerial Fun
My new build. View attachment 17235

I built this 8 days ago. I am very happy with it's flying capabilities & flight times.
Naza V2, Simonk 40 amp ESC's, Tiger 2216 900kv motors, and APC 10x4.5 props.
I have the GPS, just haven't mounted it yet.

I'm getting 12.5-15.5 minutes flight time with easy flying for video with 1 battery.
I have 5000mah, 4s 30c and 40c batteries.
The 15 1/2 minutes is is on my new 5000mah 40c GensAce batteries (hard case and heavy).
Older GensAce are getting 13-13.5 and 2 Turnigies are getting 12.5 minutes. (all 5000mah 4s)
Without the gimbal I was getting 18-21.5 minutes on 1 battery...
Motors are barely warm after 15 minutes in the air.

I'm done spending money for a while, but maybe next year I might try 2- 3300 5000mah 30c batteries.

I'm new at this (this year) and this is my 2nd build. My other MR is a xy8, 12lb mid size with Hoverfly and Avroto 2814's. Get 6.5-8 minutes with GH3 or GH2 depending on which set of batteries (2x5000mah 4s). With my 8 batteries, maybe 28 minutes of total flying time. On quad f450, it's over 110 minutes with same batteries.

I built the quad to get more air time as I found my learning curve to be very slow on the bigger more expensive unit. Mission accomplished. I'm enjoying this little quad, it's less stressful learning and trying new things, and getting way more air time. GoPro video is decent, so this is sort of my learning and scouting MR.

Looking for some opinions.

I'm now venturing out farther (Line of sight) and having trouble with orientation. What are some of the tricks of the trade for lighting or marking the quad to help with orientation? Not a big fan of lining my arms with lights, but I did buy some and they are just sitting on the table. I like the idea of a couple lights maybe, just not a whole string.