*VIDEO* Crash Diagnostics Help Please! DJI WKM on Cinestar8

I'm new to multirotors, as I just partnered in an aerial cinematography business. I familiarized myself with the DJI WKM system, with thorough assistance from the business' former partners, and had a few great flights (no issues whatsoever) before my first job. I ran through pre-flight checks, calibrated the GPS, and had a couple of smooth flights with great landings before this:

I was flying in Atti. mode, and flipped to GPS Atti mode when the trouble started, but you can see that it didn't help much. I'm not sure what I was doing with the sticks, but I wasn't trying to fight it, as I immediately knew something was wrong with the flight control. Thankfully, the Octo landed in a bush and not on the rocks, suffering no real damage. We pulled it out, dusted it off, did a hover test, and another reasonable-length flight with no issues. After about 5 more flights it happened again, with a fresh set of batteries in a more dangerous location (unfortunately, we didn't get this one on video). I got it down onto a tiny patch of grass surrounded by rocks, cracking a gimbal leg and one prop.

I've been flying helis for a few years (including single rotor 3d), and have never had a crash like this.

Any theories on what went wrong?

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
That just looks like being too aggressive in your descent without the gains properly set. Multirotors do not like coming down too quickly as the motors slow down a great deal and they are moving into more turbulent air. Next time this happens just bump the throttle up, let it stabilize and then continue. At least that's my method and it works pretty well for me.