DJI F550 for fixed GoPro/Nex work AV

StarterH

Rotor Junkie
Hey all,

I've been working steadily on this build for 3 months now. I finally, today, got it dialed in so I can get decent video off the thing without significant jello. So, I figured I would post some of the things that I learned and what my current build is. Hopefully, someone can get some answers from this and save the trial and error that I had to go through.

So, heres my specs:

Stock DJI F550 frame
Stock DJI 2212 Motors
Stock DJI 30A OPTO ESC
DJI Naza FC + GPS
Aeroxcraft F550 Landing Gear
Aeroxcraft tripod mounting plate
DJI 1038 Props
Turnigy Nanotech 6k mAh 3S

Now here are some things that I learned while doing the build:
*You will crash when you are just learning. Make sure you have spare parts, or can get them easily.
*Get the tripod mount for your gopro. The one that comes with it that you can slide the mount on and off puts a HUGE amount of vibration in to your videos
*EC3 connectors are WAY easier to solder than deans - http://www.maydayrc.com/neat-way-to-solder-ec3-plugs/
*When I first started out, I was having huge swings in my altitude, even in attitude mode. I bought a GPS thinking that would help, but it just kept it in a point on the face of the earth while it went up and down. It had everything to do with the vibrations getting to the flight controller. When I balanced my props, that went away immediately
*When filming, film at 60 fps, this reduces the amount of jello or vibes you will see in the video
*Stock DJI props are poop, but they really turned it around with the 1038s
*Replacing bearings on your motor is easier than you think. Don't spend $25-50 on a new motor when a $2 pair of new bearings will do the trick
*The aeroxcraft landing gear are a little too short for most gimbal's. Unless of course you buy your gimbal from aeroxcraft