What happens when a rotor fails...

Dependabletv

Always learning
Hi All
I'm relatively new to multi rotor flying and plan, in time, to add aerial filming to the services offered by our video production company in the UK. We're currently training very successfully on a DJI 550 which is a fantastic machine and makes me very excited about the possibilities a larger machine will offer. We have plans to put a high end camera onto a larger machine, possibly with the new Movi gimbal. Time will tell on that front.

As part of our training, and ultimately risk assessment, I'm keen to understand what happens if we get a rotor failure. Apart from the obvious answers (you crash!). I presume no element of control remains or does attitude hold at least attempt to keep you level. Do the remaining rotors allow controlled descent speed albeit without the ability to control direction? Does more rotors or coaxial rotors make a difference?

I'm sorely tempted to take our 550 to a big open space, take off a rotor and hit full power but I'd rather find a more scientific and less potentially expensive way to learn. Do any simulators offer the ability to simulate failures. And finally, does anybody have any experience of any emergency parachutes for such situations.

We are hoping to fly a seriously expensive camera and want to explore all possibilities. All experience and advice very gratefully received.

Regards
Richard

Dependabletv

Always learning
Hi Modles
thanks for the reply. We'll have to use an octo for both payload capability and stability irrespective of any safety concerns. Can you elaborate on your experience? Have you had a rotor failure and if so, what happened? I want to be able to add a section on this into our operations manual as well as being as prepared as possible.
Thanks
Richard

Dewster