(intelligent orientation control)

paktazh

hi
I am kind of confused regarding The
[h=1](intelligent orientation control)[/h]when one can use Curse lock
Thanks

smrceo

I am really new to multicoptors..are the IOC modes used a lot? I didnt set it up in my Naza as I think it would cause more issues for me.

Sent from my Galaxy SIII with Tapatalk...spelling will be bad:)

quad flyer

IMHO, it really depends on how you want to fly and at what experience level you are at.
I'm still a very bad pilot and with a multi-rotor it can be very easy to loose orientation especially if its a bit far away and you let it stop and hover.
I've ended up in the bushes at the end of the field one time because I though it was facing one way but it wasn't and when I pushed the sticks it went exactly where I was trying to avoid, 270 degrees of free space and it fly's straight into the bushes :(
This for me is when IOC really helps, I can switch it to "course lock" and pull the stick back and the quad comes back to me regardless of its original heading.
I am trying to improve my flying skills by keeping the bird moving which really does help but once it gets too far away I do still get a bit stressed. For me, IOC is more of a "recovery scenario" than a flying mode.
I do use IOC all the time when I let my young lad loose on the sticks, he finds it great fun, fly forward, fly back, fly side to side, and he (or me) doesn't need to worry which way is "forward"

smrceo

Thats great point. Sounds like a great trainer function. Maybe i will set it up. I setup return to home and figured my loss of orientation response would be flip failsafe...I dont see myself flying the quad LOS much as I built it mainly for fpv...but for training sounds useful.

Sent from my Galaxy SIII with Tapatalk...spelling will be bad:)

glacier51

paktazh:

One question. You do have the GPS fitted correct?