Hello from an old fixed-wing guy.....

barbados

My best to you all. Thank you for allowing me to visit with you.

I'm an old fixed-wing guy. There are Five (5) 80" fixed-wing planes posed as hanger-queens in my garage.

My eyes got a little weak so I kind of took a rest from the hobby.....for 10 years.

Now, I see these wonderful multi-engine 'copters with GPS and I am excited to say the least.

I would love to be able to set one of these into motion and take live videos, but I have no helo experience. Zero.

Don't need acrobatics. Don't need much of a horizontal movement...just up....pictures and down. Safely. The last word is very important.

Possible?

Best choice for a model? I have two (2) JR-8103 transmitters and a bunch of six (6) meter minature JR receivers. Will these still work with the multicopters? If these are too large or antiquated for this application, I am prepared to purchase whatever is necessary. Cost is not a problem.

I live in Southern Oregon for much of the year..we have lots of open areas to fly.

I am an engineer by trade.

Thank you again for allowing me into your forum and Best Regards to you all.

-dave-

BorisS

Drone Enthusiast
Hi Dave,

since you have experience with rc planes I dont think that you will have any problems with getting a multirotor in the air !

You have serveral choices:

For example FCs:

Mikrokopter
Hoverfly
DJI - WKM or Naza
Autoquad
APM

etc.

they all differ in features and some are more complicated to setup up than others. But all of them have GPS extensions.
The first question you have to answer though is what kind of camera you want to take up thus payload you want lift.
If its a Gopro you will be fine with a quad and there are several frame sets out there that are suitable.