Relatively cheap hexacopter for aerial photography?

Marek

Hey guys,

I want to to start doing some semi professional aerial filmmaking. I'm new to multicopters, so I want to built something to practice with and then upgrade so I'll be able to start shooting.

The problem is ... GoPro Quality simply isn't sufficient for me, so I guess I'll have to use Sony NEX-5 which is almost 250g camera.

A friend of mine advised me not to save money on a controller and buy at least DJI NAZA with GPS, but I guess I can afford just controller itself.

Anyway, here's the list:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AnqMkCs-2g4ldEhiSVZJZ2kxZnpQSFEzdDh1RVBXVVE#gid=0

I would need some advice on how powerful motors would I need and what battery would be sufficient for 10 minutes flight. I'm planning to build just the hexacopter itself and buy gimbal, transmitter etc. once my skills will improve and I'll have some more money. Although I don't want to be replacing any components later on, just adding on top, so I want to make sure the copter will be able to take off fully loaded as well. I estimate complete copter with camera, gimbal etc should have about 2Kg.

Cheers,
Marek

nicwilke

Hi Marek,
If I can advise where not to skimp on money, it'd be motors, props, ESC's, gimbal, radio, batteries and flight controller. Everything else you chose is fine to go cheap on.
For the NEX-5n (I had one on a little hexa) I'd get 8 mins flight time with it on board with 1x5000mah 3s. I was using 10x4.5 props, and small motors like on your list.
Good luck.
Hey guys,

I want to to start doing some semi professional aerial filmmaking. I'm new to multicopters, so I want to built something to practice with and then upgrade so I'll be able to start shooting.

The problem is ... GoPro Quality simply isn't sufficient for me, so I guess I'll have to use Sony NEX-5 which is almost 250g camera.