Build thread: KRATOS from Flexacopter.....Ultimate Octo-Copter

ChrisViperM

This is my first build thread ever since I hate to build, take pictures and write at the same time......but this time it's different.

As some of you know, there is a thread for quite some time now, where a guy (Mario) and his friends from Holland wanted to create the "ultimate" octocopter, the KRATOS.....Pretty big statement, but as I followed the progress of Kratos, I became more and more fascinated by the design, the technical details and the dedication of

the creators of Kratos.

The original thread: http://www.multirotorforums.com/sho...-octocopter-quot-KRATOS-quot&highlight=kratos

After a while I couldn't hold it any more and asked them for a quotation. Althought they had a "costs no limit" claim, I was surprised that the price is in the same bracket like a Cinestar 8 (in the meantime pretty outdated) and a Droidworks SkyJib.

I ordered (everything was supplied by Flexacopter) :

1x Kratos - Mainframe already assembled, arms, landing legs, mounting plates for Cinestar 3-Axis gimbal + Zenmuse Z15

8x Plettenberg Orbit 15-24 http://www.plettenberg-motoren.net/...s/plettenberg-brushless-motors/orbit/orbit-15

8x ESC TMM-6026-3 from ComPro - no Chinese rubbish (flash-able and programmable via PC interface) http://mgm-controllers.com/index.ph...controllers-tmm-6026-3-x-series-32-bit-system

6x Gensace - 6S-8000 mAh

1x custom made transport box for the Kratos

1x custom made transport box for the Cinestar 3-Axis gimbal

Parts I already have at home for the build:

Cinestar 3-Axis Gimbal + Radian stabilisation

Zenmuse Z15 for Sony NEX-7

Flight Control: ZeroUAV YS-X6

....lots of other stuff which will show up during bthe build.

The reason for choosing the ordered componets is that Mario has prooven that they work and the fact that, because of his extensive documented testing, I can save a lot of time with the set-up.....didn't want to use "Fly-Away" stuff from DJI anyways